EU Lifts Ban on Dominica for Visa-Free Travel

European-commission-006Dominica is one of 19 countries in the Pacific & Caribbean zones that the European Union (EU) has lifted visa requirements amid growing frustration in Turkey, which has been waiting for years to acquire the right to visa-free travel to member countries.

The EU Council adopted a regulation amending the regulation for countries, whose nationals must be in possession of visas when crossing the external borders and those whose nationals are exempt from that requirement.

This exemption will come into force only when bilateral agreements on visa waivers between the union and the countries concerned have been concluded in order to ensure full interchange.

According to the amended regulation, nationals from Colombia, Dominica, Grenada, Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Peru, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, the Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, the United Arab Emirates and Vanuatu will be exempt from the visa requirement when travelling to the Schengen zone.

Turkey signed a long-anticipated agreement with the EU late last year, refreshing hopes for new momentum in stalled bilateral relations between Ankara and Brussels.

The landmark agreement paves the way for EU governments to send back illegal immigrants crossing into Europe from Turkey in exchange for talks on visa-free travel for citizens of the country, which is a candidate for full membership.

© 2012 SAT Telecommunications Ltd.

Scroll to top