Minority Government for Cayman Islands

Cayman Island's Cabinet

Cayman Island’s Cabinet

A day after former Cayman Islands Premier McKeeva Bush was ousted in a vote of no confidence, Governor Duncan Taylor rejected calls from Bush and opposition party members to dissolve the Legislative Assembly and call early elections, opting instead to allow Juliana O’Connor Connolly to form a minority government as the new premier.

This means that the Cayman Islands will now be governed by a minority group of just five elected members of the ruling United Democratic Party (UDP) out of the 15-seat assembly.

O’Connor-Connolly is the Cayman Islands first woman premier but she has herself come under fire in recent weeks for overspending public funds by racking up travel and accommodation bills of more than US$250,000 since coming to office in May 2009.

At a press briefing on Wednesday, O’Connor-Connolly promised an open, transparent, stable and consultative government to take the Cayman Islands through the next five months before the general election due in May.

© 2012 SAT Telecommunications Ltd.

Scroll to top