NBD Primary Schools Football Champion to commence on Friday

The Sports Division of the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports will on Friday, January 28th, 2011, commence its 2011 Primary Schools Football Championship.


This year’s championship will once more be sponsored by the National Bank of Dominica and will be called the 2011 National Bank of Dominica (NBD) Primary Schools Football Championship.


An opening ceremony will precede the first round of matches which will see the North and North East Zones in competition at the Benjamin’s Park in Portsmouth.


The opening ceremony will commence at 10:00 am and will feature addresses from the Sports Coordinator, Mayor of Portsmouth, Parliamentary Representative of the Portsmouth Constituency, a representative of the sponsor – NBD, and the Minister of Culture, Youth and Sports.


This year’s championship will see an increase in participation compared to last year. 


A total of forty-nine (49) schools will participate in this all-important championship, which is a breeding ground for future players at the age group and senior national levels.


The Division is grateful to the NBD who has seen it fit to continue the sponsorship of this championship. 


The NBD is once more demonstrating its corporate and social responsibility in a tangible way.


This year’s championship will be played in nine (9) zones as compared to eight (8) zones in 2010. 


The Round Robin stage of the competition is expected to end on February 23, 2011 and will be followed by the Intermediate stage which will then lead to the knock out stage.


The 2011 championship is expected to include a District Championship that will be played among teams representing the nine (9) zones and will also include a Girls Festival.


Forty-five (45) schools participated in the 2010 Championship which was won by the St. Mary’s Primary School.

© 2012 SAT Telecommunications Ltd.

Scroll to top