New Committee Formed to Spearhead Women’s Soccer in the Region

The Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Logo

The Caribbean Football Union (CFU) has announced the formation of an all-woman women’s committee, to spearhead the organization of women’s soccer in the region.

A statement from CFU has described the development as ‘the dawning of a new day’ and the Committee as ‘the first of its kind in the history of football’.

The new committee is chaired by Mrs. Sonia Bien-Aime of the Turks & Caicos Islands, who is also a CFU Executive Committee Member.

Other committee members include Diana Claxton-Carty of Anguilla, Gwendolyn Salmon of Antigua & Barbuda, Jamaica’s Elaine Walker-Brown, Trinidad and Tobago’s Jinelle James, Bernadine Andrew of Grenada and Shequita Parson of Bermuda.

CFU says all committee members will be appointed for a period of 4 years and are actively involved in football at the local and national level.

The committee will assist in selecting the host associations for the final round of the CFU Women’s U-17 Championship, CFU Women’s U-19 Championship and other women’s competitions.

The committee will also assist with the programme content for women’s football conferences, and courses and monitor the CFU Women’s tournaments that serve as qualification tournaments for CONCACAF and FIFA tournaments.

© 2012 SAT Telecommunications Ltd.

Scroll to top