New Executive for Southern District Sports Committee

cricket footage

Southern District Cricketers

The Southern District Sports Committee has elected a new executive to run its affairs for the period January to December 2013.

The election was held on Saturday January 12th, where the outgoing President, Mr. Claudius Lestrade was voted as the new Vice President.

Mr. Vincent Gregoire was voted as the New President and Mr. Sean Martin and Ms. Beverly Baron retained their positions as Treasurer and Secretary respectively.

Sports Officer for the Southern District, Mr. Abraham Brown, says along with the newly elected members of the committee, each of the organized village committees is expected to send one nominee to join others on that committee.

This is the second year of existence for the Committee and it serves to organize sporting activities within the district.

The Sports Officer says this is one of the tools that the Sports Division uses to further develop sports in Dominica.

Last year the committee organized the National Lottery Lambert Henderson Southern Cricket League and the Southern District Football Leagues, which they plant to continue this year.


Sports Officer for the Southern District, Mr. Abraham Brown

Now that the committee is more organized, they plan to give significant attention to training of officials and players, particularly of football, and to upgrade the level of performance.

Mr. Brown says this shows that to be successful in sports there need to be a high level of commitment and community support.

Other Committee members include Murium and Julia Bruno, Denrick Samuel, Isiah Proctor, Daniel Ormond, Reggie Henry, Roy Tonge and Vanson Bedminister.

© 2012 SAT Telecommunications Ltd.

Scroll to top