OECS discuss progress for the inauguration assembly


OECS.jpgThe Authority agreed that the inauguration, which was originally scheduled for June 15, 2012, in St. John’s Antigua, would be postponed by a few months.


The Treaty of Basseterre (2010) is making provision for establishment of the OECS Assembly as one of five principal Organs of the OECS.


The other principal Organs are the Authority of Heads of Government of the Member States, the Council of Ministers, the Economic Affairs Council, and the OECS Commission.


The inauguration of the OECS Assembly is of tremendous historical significance of the OECS Community.


Heads of the Government are of the view that preparations across the OECS Economic Union, will benefit from additional time to ensure that all arrangements are put in place so that the inauguration of this vital Organ is accorded the place of distinction, which it will command in the history of the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States.

© 2012 SAT Telecommunications Ltd.

Scroll to top