Record Number of Students Graduate From the Dominica State College

For the first time, the Dominica State College is graduating an excess of 300 students.

The commencement ceremony which took place on Monday October 15th, where 389 students graduated at the Windsor Park Sports Stadium.

A major feature at the ceremony was the graduation of eight students receiving Bachelors of Science in Nursing.

Armed with their diplomas in hand, Honourable Kelver Darroux, who represented the Minister for Education, Honourable Petter St. Jean, encouraged the graduates to venture into the world and achieve their goals.

 The Government continues to focus on securing scholarships for Dominicans across the world, including Cuba, China, Russia, Venezuela and Morocco.

The keynote address came from Dr. Dean E. Robinson who is an Associate Professor of Political Science at the University of Massachusetts in the United States.

He says there is no reason why the graduates should not take their pursuit of higher education as far as they can dream of.

He suggests that knowledge is not only instrumental but we need to explore and develop an approach that helps cultivate intellectual and broader development goals.

He says that as they pursue higher education, it is very likely that their interests will evolve and expand.

The objective of knowledge and learning is not just about economic opportunity but for intellectual and ultimately developmental goals.

Dennis Learmont Guye is this year’s Valedictorian.

He says to accomplish great things we must not only act but also dream, not to plan but also believe.

The Dominica State College not only provided an environment conducive to education but the guidance necessary to further their studies.

He asked the graduating class not to forget why they came to the DSC, and to enter the world with a new and bright approach on life.

263 students graduated from the Faculty of Arts and Sciences; 54 from the Faculty of Applied Arts and Technology; 34 from the Faculty of Education and

38 from the Faculty of Health Sciences.

© 2012 SAT Telecommunications Ltd.

Scroll to top