Tenth Inaugural Meeting of the Pichelin Village Council


Prime Minister of Dominica, Honourable Roosevelt Skerrit

At the Tenth Inaugural Pichelin Village Council Meeting, held on Thursday June 13th, eight Councilors were sworn into the Pichelin Village Council, for which they will provide their services.

The elected members were; Khadrie Thomas, Albert Cuffy, Thomas Letang, Lisa Reid and Jonia Xavier, while the nominated members were; Sherie Anselm, Lex Magloire and Gary Andrew.

The residents of Pichelin were called on to lend their support to the new Councilors.

Newly elected Councilor, who spoke on behalf of the Pichelin Village Council, Mr. Khadrie Thomas thanked the villagers for their past support of the Local Government, and appealed for the same cooperation moving forward.

Prime Minister of Dominica, Honourable Roosevelt stated, the two major concerns for the community, is the issue of housing and access to the Health Centre, Community Centre and the Roman Catholic Church.

The Prime Minister says his Government is working to address those issues.

He urged the residents to ensure that their children stay away from drugs and find themselves in school.

“I am saying to the parents, you have to take responsibility for your children’s future – ensure that they attend school and they study to excel academically. I am also saying to you, that if you are challenged to purchase the school books and uniforms for your children, this Government will provide for them,” Mr. Skerrit explained.

© 2012 SAT Telecommunications Ltd.

Scroll to top