WICB Announces West Indies Women Squad for ICC World T20

The West Indies Cricket Board’s Selection Panel today named the West Indies Women’s squad for the International Cricket Council’s World T20 Tournament in Sri Lanka in September.


  • Merissa Aguilleira (Captain/wicket-keeper)
  • Stafanie Taylor (Vice Captain)
  • Shemaine Campbelle
  • Britney Cooper
  • Shanel Daley
  • Deandra Dottin
  • Stacy-Ann King
  • Kycia Knight (Wicket-keeper)
  • Anisa Mohammed
  • Subrina Munroe
  • Juliana Nero
  • Shaquana Quintyne
  • Shakera Selman
  • Tremayne Smartt

The WICB Selection Panel has recalled allrounder Britney Cooper, who has made a full recovery after suffering a fractured finger earlier this year. Cooper made a successful return to the game during the recent Women’s Regional T20 Championship in Jamaica.

Also back in the squad are teenaged leg-spinner Shaquana Quintyne and opening batswoman/wicket-keeper Kycia Knight, who both missed the series against Sri Lanka due to studies.

The team is again led by inspirational captain Merissa Aguilleira, who has been at the helm for three years as the Windies have made a steady climb up the ICC rankings. The Vice Captain is Stafanie Taylor the leading allrounder in Women’s cricket.

The squad also includes several other world-rated players: off-spinner Anisa Mohammed, left-handed allrounder Shanel Daley, world record-holder Deandra Dottin, and fast bowler Shakera Selman.

The Windies Women will undertake a tour of England prior to travelling to Sri Lanka.

The Windies Women will face England Women in five T20s. They will start with the first two games at the Durham ICG and Old Trafford, on September 8 and 10 respectively, scheduled directly before England men take on South Africa in T20 Internationals and broadcast live on Sky Sports.

The other matches will be played at the County Ground, Northampton (September 13), County Ground, Hove (September 15) and at the Arundel Cricket Club in Sussex (September 16).

The West Indies have been drawn in Group B of the ICC World T20 Tournament which will bowl off in Galle on September 26.

Fixtures for ICC World T20

Wednesday, September 26: vs New Zealand – Galle
Friday, September 28: vs Sri Lanka – Galle
Sunday, September 30: vs South Africa – Galle


Thursday, October 4: Group A1 v Group B2 – Colombo
Friday, October 5: Group A2 v Group B1 – Colombo

GRAND FINAL: Sunday, October 7 – Colombo

© 2012 SAT Telecommunications Ltd.

Scroll to top