Youth Council Hosts 2014 National Youth Awards

Some of the awardees at the National Youth Council's Award Ceremony

Some of the awardees at the National Youth Council’s Award Ceremony

A number of individuals were on Saturday May 31st 2014 awarded, when the National Youth Council of Dominica (NYCD), hosted its 9th annual awards ceremony at the Dominica State College’s Stockfarm Campus.

Jahisiah Benoit, President of the NYCD who spoke at the event stated, it was all in an effort to recognize the efforts of young people throughout Dominica for the year 2013 to 2014.

Some of the awardees included; Rowen Carbon in the field of Tourism, Donte Georges – Visual Arts, Hanif Francis – Culture, Marvin Maximea for Agriculture, Edona Jno Baptiste in Media and Denzel Guye in Academic & Extra Curricular.

Acting Chief Youth Development Officer, John Roach noted, that the ceremony was a true manifestation of the youth recognizing the youth as they have been doing for the past nine years.

Other awardees included; Krishna “Dada” Lawrence for Music, Marja Jeffers for Performing Arts, Narlie Bertrand in the field of Entrepreneurship, Chelsea Linton for Sports and Shannon John for Literary Arts.

Mathias Bruno received the award for the Esteemed Challenge, while Kimara Hurtault was awarded for Leadership.

The President’s Award went to the Saint Mary’s Primary School.

Special Recognition Awards went to; Delia Cuffy-Weeks, Jules Pascal and Gloria Agustus.

© 2012 SAT Telecommunications Ltd.

Scroll to top